Daily Drama 28

Standard
Daily Drama 28

I pretend that I am open-minded, but really, I have learned a thing or two in the past couple days.

(Okay, I don’t have any recent photos to decorate this post. So how about these old ones, instead?)

2012-06-09 17.22.07_w

I will never forget you, Poodle.

 

1) Dobby can toss a coconut.

I bought him a coconut as a joke- his fur is just like a coconut. Try it- fondle a coconut next time you are at the grocery store. Just tell them you are checking out what capybara fur feels like. So, anyway, I am always looking for “enrichment” for Dobby. He is so smart, and he does enjoy an intellectual challenge. He was fascinated by this new offering, but when I put it in his potato bowl, he just tossed it out. Just. Tossed. It. Out. Can you imagine picking up a coconut with your teeth and tossing it?

2) Keep an eye on your turtle tank.

It was overflowing with rainfall, but at the same time, the leaves that were falling in were turning it dark with tannin, like over-steeped tea. I decided to drain off a bit, and started the siphon. A couple minutes later, the siphon had stopped, clogged with debris. So I started the siphon again. A couple minutes later, the siphon had stopped, clogged with debris. So I started the siphon again. A couple minutes later, the siphon had stopped, clogged with debris. So I started the siphon again. This time, I looked over, the water was GONE,  the turtles were awake and looking around, like “What? Is it Spring already?” and the submersible pump was making sucking/wheezing sounds. (Sorry no video.) WOW! So I quickly re-filled the tank with new water, and bailed like crazy from the duck pond to get them some “aged” water. I didn’t want to overload them with chlorine and fluorine and whatever else comes in with “clean water.”

3) Dobby isn’t going anywhere.

So, some people came by while Dobby was in the front yard, and the last one to enter didn’t check the gate. It had bounced back open and was quite unsecured when Dobby reviewed the situation. I had been hunkered down in the greenhouse, warm and dry, and when I finally came out to observe his grazing progress, I found Dobby staring at the open gate. He was very concerned, and had made that clear by creating a masterpiece outside the window corresponding to their activities inside. So now we know: if the gate is open, he doesn’t leave. Probably.

4) The budgie is a jerk.

When I open the cages at night, the budgie barges into the cockatiel cage while they scurry aside to give him space. So, I decided to trick him by opening a new cage door. There are actually seven doors on the cockatiel cage: 1 big door, 2 smaller access doors, and 4 tiny doors for food dish access. It took him about 5 extra minutes to discover the second access door, down below. I’m really excited about  all these doors- I’m going to open different doors every night just to trip him up! Don’t worry- I watch them carefully, and no one gets hurt, but it is important to provide stimulation to caged birds. Boredom is a big issue with all caged domestic pets, so I’m always looking for new ways for them to interact with each other- in a safe way, of course!

4 responses »

    • Remind me to write about some of the birds I’ve had, and how I’ve had to build barriers around my dinner plates to keep them off during my meals. It’s okay if they want to steal something from the edge, but STAY OUT OF THE MIDDLE! I’ll be writing about my sparrow someday soon. He was a pain in the neck but I’m not sure when I’ve missed a pet more.

Leave a Reply

