Daily Drama 13

Standard

At some point, I’ll write up my turtle story. For today, I’ll just tell you about my trip to the Seattle Animal Shelter (SAS). For reasons I won’t go into right now, I knew my little turtle was lonely. I looked at the SAS website, and they had a turtle available for adoption!

2014-07-27 10.58.47_ws

Lonely Quasimodo

Here is Pepper the Red-Eared Slider on the way home from the shelter.

2014-08-31 14.00.14_w

Pepper checks out the sun

He was pretty excited about the sun, fresh air, and jostling.

2014-08-31 14.01.56_w

If you’re going to transport turtles, best to have a convertible!

Pepper is very lively! Time to come out of the carrier. That’s Dobby’s old carrier, by the way. Hard to believe isn’t it?

IMG_1695_w

Clear eyes, nostrils open and dry

He looks pretty healthy to me, but he comes with a certificate for a free veterinary exam. That’s too good to pass up!

IMG_1699_w

Approved by Dobby

Prince Dobalob had to check him out, of course.

IMG_1702_w

Quasimodo will enjoy having a friend to sun with.

Quasimodo wasn’t sunning, so I set Pepper on his regular haul out spot.

IMG_1704_w

DUCKS KEEP OUT!

The aviary is totally fenced, with a chickenwire “roof” to keep out raccoons and herons. This grid just keeps the ducks out. NO SWIMMING!

IMG_1706_w

That diagonal branch should still be on a tree about 40′ up. The chickenwire roof should be about level with the top fence stringer.

On my way out of the aviary, I turn back and I notice an odd branch that wasn’t there in the morning. That’s right where I walk in and I would have had to duck under it to get in. Even before my coffee I would have notice this big lulu.

2014-08-31 14.39.00_w

Lulu the Tree Branch

Here’s what it looked like from inside. Probably at least a 6′ diameter. Came down from about 40′ up, fast. It pierced the 2″ chickenwire and ripped a gash in it. Big enough for a flock of herons, a family of raccoons and maybe a bald eagle to saunter through at the same time.

2014-08-31 14.56.11_w

The Intrepid Bartender

My Bartender, Dick, to the rescue! Here he is standing in the gash. That wire should be a couple feet above his head! It was an easy fix. One straight gash, during the day, it wasn’t raining, and we noticed it before a massacre happened. Yay!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

